hair rejuvenation

The Baseball Project: Pete Rose Way

Filed in Cincinnati and Music News 5 comments

The Baseball Project visits the Reds HOF Museam in 2009 (photo by meamedia)

As a Cincinnati sports fan, with my Bengals finished for the year (and maybe longer) I cannot wait for baseball season to start. So it’s perfect timing to get notice today that The Baseball Project have a brand new album on the way this spring. I loved their first album, Frozen Ropes & Dying Quails, and wrote about it here. The new album maintains the core of great musicians who also happen to be big baseball fans returning to sing and pick about the national pastime.

I’ve just finished listening to the album in it’s entirety, and Steve Wynn (Steve Wynn & The Miracle 3, The Dream Syndicate, Gutterball, Danny & Dusty), Scott McCaughey (The Minus 5, Young Fresh Fellows, R.E.M.), Linda Pitmon (The Miracle 3, Golden Smog) and Peter Buck (R.E.M.) have done it again. I said this when the first album came out, and I’ll say it again, it is so rare to hear good original music about sports, but The Baseball Project seem to do it with ease.

Again, the song titles give you a good idea of what to expect. Tunes like “Don’t Call Them Twinkies” (with lyrics & vocals by Craig Finn of The Hold Steady and music by Steve Wynn) “Buckner’s Bolero”, and “Ichiro Goes To The Moon” are as good as the titles. he album also features guest appearances by Ben Gibbard of Death Cab for Cutie, Steve Berlin of Los Lobos, Yo La Tengo’s Ira Kaplan, Chris Funk and John Moen of The Decemberists as well as longtime friend and musical collaborator Robert Lloyd. We of course wanted to feature the tune dedicated to one of Cincinnati’s own though, titled “Pete Rose Way.” Hear it below and get ready for the album on March 1 from Yep Roc.

Pete Rose Way by eachnotesecure

Volume 2: High and Inside tracklist:
1. 1976
2. Panda and The Freak
3. Fair Weather Fans
4. Don’t Call Them Twinkies
5. Chin Music
6. Buckner’s Bolero
7. Tony (Boston’s Chosen Son)
8. Ichiro Goes to the Moon
9. The Straw that Stirs the Drink
10. Look Out Mom
11. Pete Rose Way
12. Twilight of My Career
13. Here Lies Carl Mays

We got some additional photos from the band’s visit to the museam, they are posted below.

Posted by Joe Long   @   10 January 2011 5 comments


Trackbacks to this post.

Sorry, comments are closed.

Previous Post
Next Post
CrossBlock designed by DeltaManual.Com  |  In conjunction with Web Hosting   |   Web Hosting   |   Reverse phone